Orange-Chocolate Scones

There’s this great little cafe in Ottawa called the Tea Party (named after the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party in Alice in Wonderland). My mom used to take me there when I was really little and I’d always get the same thing: a giant scone that came with a little pots of jam and whipped cream. I recently returned to the cafe as an adult and it’s such a different experience than when I was a child (the scones are not as giant as I remember them…), but still delicious.

I always think of the Tea Party when I bake scones. I made these ones, orange with dark chocolate, a couple weeks ago to take on a visit to a friend in Toronto. They’re filling and tangy and just the right amount of sweet for breakfast or a snack with your tea.

Orange-Chocolate Scones

Source: Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • 2 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp cold unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp buttermilk (I just mixed a couple tablespoons of lemon juice with regular milk)
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (I chopped up a bar of dark baking chocolate)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Cut in the butter (I used my fingers) until the mixture resembles cornmeal. Combine the egg and buttermilk in another bowl. Add to flour/butter mixture and combine until dough is soft. Fold in the chocolate.
  3. Put the dough on a floured surface and knead about 15 times. Roll or pat it down into whatever shape you want (I made a rectangle), about 1 inch thick. Cut it into 4 big pieces or 8 little pieces (I recommend the latter). Place on prepared baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes, until edges begin to brown.
  4. Serve and enjoy! We ate them plain but I think they’d be delicious with the right jam. Marmalade even, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

