Hello, World!

I’m no good at introductions. I overthink them, write a sentence, stare at it for 10 minutes, and then delete it. It’s an agonizing process, so let’s just jump right in.

Welcome to my blog, which will largely be a vegetarian foodblog. To learn more about me or the other things I intent to write about, check out the About section.

It’s New Year’s Eve today and I’m feeling very hopeful an optimistic, as one often does when it comes to beginnings and new starts. My mood may also have to do with the fact that I just finished making some mini-cupcakes that I’m taking to a party tonight, and they’re very cute.

They’re chocolate and vanilla marble with chocolate buttercream and rainbow sprinkles. Elegant and festive. The recipe I based them on is from my well-worn copy of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. I “unveganized” them (take note of this term; a friend introduced it to me and it’ll be a popular around here) and made them nut-free. The recipe is supposed to make 12 regular sized cupcakes and it made 32 mini ones. The frosting recipe makes an unreal amount so I halfed it and still have a bit left over.

Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Cupcakes

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup milk (they call for soy but I used cows’ milk)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (they call for vegan margarine; if you want to go that route, Earth Balance is a great option)
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract (I left this out because some of the guests at the party these are being served at have nut allergies, but if that isn’t a concern for you, I recommend leaving it in – it adds a wonderful hint of flavour)
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp + 1 tsp cocoa powder

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease two mini-cupcake pans with butter or margarine (I don’t often use cupcake papers with mini-cupcakes as I find a lot of the cupcake sticks to the liner and they’re already tiny to begin with). You may need another mini-cupcake pan if you have left over batter.
  2. Add the vinegar to the soy milk and set aside to curdle.
  3. Combine butter, sugar, vanilla extract, almond extract (if you’re using it) and cornstarch in a large bowl. Add the flour, baking powder and salt and stir to combine. Add the milk/vinegar mixture and stir to combine (I often switch from a spoon to a wisk at this point).
  4. Transfer half of the batter into a medium bowl and add the cocoa powder to it, stirring to combine. The recipe calls for the cocoa powder to be combined with three tablespoons of boiling water before being added to the batter, but I never do this and the cupcakes are just fine.
  5. Spoon about a teaspoon of batter from each bowl (vanilla and chocolate) into each cupcake mold. Each should be filled about 2/3 of the way. Using a toothpick, swirl the two types of batter together so the chocolate and vanilla are intertwined but not combined.
  6. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until the vanilla part of the cupcake are turning golden brown and the tops feel solid and not liquid-y. Let the cupcakes cool for a minute or two and then transfer to a cooling rack.
  7. Once the cupcakes are completely cooled, pipe or spread on the chocolate buttercream frosting (see recipe below). I used a large star tip and piped it on in little dollops, and then sprinkled some rainbow sprinkles all over them.

Vegan Fluffy (Chocolate) Buttercream Frosting

Source: adapted from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (the recipe calls for half shortening and half vegan margarine)
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk (the recipe calls for soy milk but again, I used cows’ milk)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder

Directions

  1. Combine butter and vanilla in a medium bowl. Add the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa powder and mix until fluffy (I use the wisk attachment on my immersion blender, but I’ve also done this by hand with a wisk and it’s worked out fine).
  2. Add the milk one teaspoon at a time until the consistency you want is reached.
  3. Spread or pipe the frosting and eat the leftovers with a spoon!
Leave a Reply

