Garlic Butter Roasted Cauliflower

I’ve had a rash of bad cooking experiences lately, largely due to a cookbook I’ve been trying out. Someone gave my girlfriend Fresh and Fast Vegan Pleasures and after trying four different recipes from it and reading through most of the others, I’m pretty disappointed. There are typos, the quantities are off, parts of the instructions are missing and the dishes are pretty bland. I like some of the ideas (roasted veggies battered in chickpea flour!) but if I make them, I’m going to follow my own intuition and not the book.

The moral of all this is, the risotto you see pictured to the left sucked and I’m not even going to bother giving you the recipe.

The part about this meal that didn’t suck was the garlic butter roasted cauliflower. Oh my GOD was it good. It originates from Smitten Kitchen as garlic butter roasted mushrooms, but I followed Joy the Baker’s lead and substituted cauliflower.

Garlic Butter Roasted Cauliflower

Source: Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • half a head of cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 tbsp capers, rinsed and chopped (I omitted these because I hate capers with a passion)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice (I didn’t have any so I omitted this and it still tasted great, but I can imagine this would be a wonderful addition)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 F.
  2. Toss cauliflower, oil, capers (if using) and salt and pepper in a 1 1/2-2 quart baking dish. Scatter the butter on top.
  3. Roast for 15-20 minutes until cauliflower is tender and butter is bubble-y.
  4. Stir in parsley and lemon juice and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Garlic Butter Roasted Cauliflower

  1. The butter, garlic and lemon combination is a winner! This was great–so easy and tasty, I’m sure I will be enjoying this frequently. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. You’re very welcome, Cecily! I’m excited to try it with other veggies substituted for the cauliflower – or mixed all together.

Leave a Reply

