Broccoli Curry Udon

I have two folders of recipes in my Internet bookmarks bar. One is favourites, recipes that I come back to time and again and are staples in my meal planning. The second is recipes to try.

As soon as I saw all the ingredients for this one – Broccoli Curry Udon from Post Punk Kitchen – lined up on the counter, I knew it was going to be amazing. And it was; I moved it to my favourites folder almost immediately.

Speaking of recipes from foodblogs, who else works straight from their computer screen in the kitchen? I’m always a bit scared I’m going to spill something on my laptop or accidentally microwave it or something, but I hate printing out recipes and having loose paper everywhere. I hate working from recipe binders too. Sigh.

Anyway, this dish! So delicious. When we were in Montreal in December, my girlfriend and I bought some TVP (textured vegetable protein) at Yuan, a vegetarian Chinese restaurant that has lots of fake meat dishes. I added a handful and used the udon noodles we also bought at Yuan. The TVP was delicious but if you’re not a fake meat person (I’m usually not), it’s definitely not necessary. This strikes me as a very versatile dish that you could throw whatever veggies you want as well as tofu in. I changed the procedure for the recipe a bit in order to cook the TVP but you can try the original over at PPK.

Broccoli Curry Udon

Source: Post Punk Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. dry round udon noodles
  • olive oil for sauteeing (I ran out halfway through and ended up using a bit of sesame oil – it tasted great!)
  • 6 cups of broccoli florets (about one head of broccoli)
  • medium red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • big pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth mixed with 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp curry powder (the recipe called for 2 tsp but I found 1 tsp was spicy enough. It may depend on the curry powder you’re using. Experiment with caution!)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • handful of TVP pieces (google tells me the kind I used were “fake chicken or beef” sized)
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 4 tsp toasted sesame seeds

Directions

  1. Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a large saucepan and add the broccoli and a pinch of salt. Cover and cook for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. When the broccoli is done (it should still be quite green and not at all mushy), transfer it to a bowl and set aside.
  2. Start to boil the water for the noodles.
  3. In the same saucepan you sauteed the broccoli in, add a bit more oil, the onions and another pinch of salt. Cook for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. Transfer to the same bowl as the broccoli.
  4. The water for the pasta should be boiling by now: add the udon noddles to it and cook for about 10 minutes or whatever the directions on the package call for.
  5. While the pasta is cooking, saute the ginger and garlic in a bit of oil in the same saucepan you sauteed the broccoli and onions in. Add the red pepper flakes after about 1 minute. Add the vegetable broth/cornstarch mixture, soy sauce, curry powder and TVP. Cover the pan and allow the sauce to boil, stirring occasionally. It should be thickened and the TVP should be soft and chewy by the time the udon noodles are finished cooking. Turn off the heat and add the coconut milk.
  6. Drain the udon noodles and add them as well as the veggies to the saucepan containing the sauce and TVP. Combine. Serve with toasted sesame seeds on top and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Broccoli Curry Udon

  1. Couscous is served by everyone everywhere here. I find, unless it’s served with a heavy meat stew (almost never) or a huge dollop of hummus (more likely), it’s like eating air and you’re starved an hour later. So I do 1 part TVP to 4-5 parts couscous, rehydrated separately, when I cook from home. Season like a salad (S&P plus vinegar or spices or olives, etc.) and even the most “eww, tofu!” boy doesn’t notice it hidden in the couscous. It’s a cheap and filling way to get a protein-carb to a crowd. (The only problem is they don’t have TVP here and I have to bring it in myself.)

Leave a Reply

