Couscous with Veggies and Feta

It’s almost the end of my reading week and I’ve been buried under books the whole time.  This means two things: I’m going to return to classes more exhausted than before reading week began, and I’ve resorted to lots of cooking and baking as a means of procrastination. Today I made an apple crumble, chocolate chip banana bread and pizza from scratch. But that’s not what this post is about. It’s about couscous! I couldn’t believe how freaking easy it was to make when I first tried it. This recipe is adapted from Smitten Kitchen, and is a super easy-to-make dinner. I initially made it exactly according to the recipe and I love peppers, but a whole one was just too much taste bud overload for me. The next time I tried it, I incorporated the pepper into the couscous and it was perfect (and faster to make!)

Couscous with Veggies and Feta

Source: adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2/3 cup couscous
  • 1-2 bell peppers, chopped (I used one yellow one this time because the red ones were like, $5 each. I know.)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 6 ounce zucchini, quartered and thinly sliced
  • 6 ounce yellow squash, quartered and thinly sliced (these are out of season here, so I just used an extra zucchini)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 2 cups (15 oz) chickpeas, drained and rinsed (either canned or cooked)
  • 1 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste

Directions

  1. Bring the soup stock to a boil and add the couscous. Take it off the heat, cover and set aside.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet. Add the peppers, onion, zucchini, yellow squash, oregano and salt. Cook, stirring frequently for about 5-7 minutes until vegetables are soft. Add tomatoes, chickpeas, feta cheese and tomato paste. Stir. Add couscous and heat through.
  3. Serve with a green salad and a spoonful of plain yogurt or tzatziki on top!
Leave a Reply

