Farewell, summer!

Like everything in my life lately, this blog has been getting far less attention than it deserves. I started it as a way to keep me sane during my thesis-writing, but it ended up getting shoved aside by aforementioned academic monstrosity. But guess what! I’m done my thesis! It’s fully written, edited, defended and bound! It was such an experience, but I’m glad it’s behind me.

So is summer, which makes me a bit sad. I won’t miss the Ottawa humidity, but I’d gotten used to drinks on the patio. I have two to share with you this evening: pear sangria and Pimm’s cups.

Pear Sangria

I first had pear sangria at a restaurant in Kingston while I was visiting some friends.  We loved it so much that we asked the waitress for the recipe, which she happily shared.  It called for pear vodka, which they apparently don’t sell anymore, so after some intense foodblog searching, I found directions for how to make flavoured vodka. I can’t find the article link now, but the process is simple. Fill an air-tight jar with whatever thing you want to infuse the vodka with; in this case, I used peeled, cored pears. From what I hear, you can use anything, from vanilla beans to bacon (yuck). Next, fill the jar with as much plain vodka as it will hold. I then stored mine in the fridge for four weeks, shaking it every couple days, but I’ve heard conflicting reports that say to store it at room temperature for less time. Mine turned out just fine!

Ingredients
(Makes one very small pitcher. I would double it, if I were you.)

  • 750 mL of sparkling white wine
  • 3 ounces pear vodka
  • 500 mL pear juice
  • 1 pear, peeled, cored and cut into small pieces
  • handful of strawberries, cut into pieces

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a pitcher several hours before you want to serve it. Refrigerate.
  2. Serve over ice in large wine glasses.
  3. Enjoy!

Orangette’s Pimm’s Cup

My friends and I have a monthly craft night, and this summer we decided cocktail making is a craft. Our favourite by far was Orangette’s Pimm’s Cup, which is now one of my staples.

Ingredients
(Makes one glass)

  • 1 1/2 oz Pimm’s No. 1
  • 4 1/2 oz gingerale or gingerbeer
  • Ice
  • 1 thin slice of cucumber
  • 1 thin slice of lemon, plus a bit of lemon juice
  • 1 slice strawberry
  • A couple mint leaves

Directions

  1. Pour the Pimm’s and gingerale/gingerbeer into the glass. Add the cucumber, lemon, strawberry and mint. Add the ice and a small squeeze of lemon juice.
  2. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

