Slow Cooker Black Bean Enchiladas

My mother has been telling me about the magic of slow cookers for years. She recently informed me that she has four of them, of varying sizes, in case I’m ever in need. And last fall I was finally swayed, and asked for one on my birthday.

I love eating out once in awhile, but when it happens too often, it’s incredibly expensive and I don’t end up eating very well. I love being able to cook the majority of our meals, but that can be super hard with our busy lives. I often work evenings or come home exhausted, so I’ve had to learn how to plan around this. Enter the slow cooker! Do a bit of prep the night before, throw everything in, turn it on in the morning, and you’re done! And they are so versatile: you make make soups, sauces, drinks, baked goods… even enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Black Bean Enchiladas

Source: The Kitchn

Ingredients

  • 1/2 onion, diced small
  • 1/2 bell pepper, diced small
  • 2 cups cooked black beans (or a 16 oz can of them)
  • 1 cup corn
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (I used mozzarella because it’s what I had, but I think it would also be great with monterey jack. If you’re making this vegan, you can omit the cheese or use a vegan one like Daiya)
  • 4 cups salsa
  • 12 6-8″ tortillas (choose the size based on how big your slow cooker is)
  • 2 cups veggie ground round (optional)

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the onion, pepper, beans, corn, chili powder, cumin, salt and veggie ground round (if using) and 1/2 cup of cheese.
  2. Pour a cup of salsa on the bottom of the slow cooker.
  3. Scoop about 1/3 cup of the bean mixture into a tortilla, roll it up, and put it in the slow cooker (seam side down). Repeat until the bottom of the slow cooker is covered. Spread another cup of salsa over these tortillas, and sprinkle another 1/2 cup of cheese on top. Roll the rest of the tortillas and make a second layer in the slow cooker. Cover with a cup of salsa, but leave the cheese for now.
  4. Place the lid on the slow cooker and turn it to HIGH for 2-4 hours (I did mine for 2.5 and it was prefect – the top tortilla edges were crispy and the bottom ones weren’t mushy yet). 15 minutes before you think they’re done, sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top and let it melt.
  5. Turn the slow cooker off, and serve the enchiladas with the remaining salsa and perhaps some salad or ripe avocado slices. Delicious!
Leave a Reply

