Apple and Spinach Salad + Green Bean, Red Quinoa and Hazelnut Salad

100_2948I’m still in the throes of my detox diet; I’m in the “food reintegration” stage now, where I reintroduce foods one by one and eat as much of them as possible for one day, and then go back to the detox diet for another day or two, watching for reactions the whole time. So far, soy and eggs are not my friends.  I’ve settled into a rhythm of detox diet cooking, and reintegration days keep me from getting bored (I struggled with this earlier). I have 16 more days of this, and then my food life returns to normal, hopefully with few intolerances!

In the meantime, I have two delicious salads for you! I think both are perfect for any season, and they both have a boost of protein with nuts and quinoa. The original recipe for the spinach one calls for sugar and feta, neither of which I can eat right now, so I just omitted them and it was still delicious. I know from past experience with this recipe that the feta is delicious, and goat cheese is quite a wonderful substitution…

Pictured above with these salads is caramelized cauliflower, which has been my saving grace over the detox.

Apple and Spinach Salad
Source: Annie’s Eats

Ingredients

For the dressing:

  • 3 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp white wine or champagne vinegar (I used the former)
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • A pinch of paprika

  • 1/2 cup olive oil

For the salad:

  • 3/4 cup sliced or slivered almonds
  • 10 oz baby spinach, washed and dried
  • 2 medium apples, cored and thinly sliced

Directions

  1. For the dressing, whisk all the ingredients together. You can make this in advance and store it in the fridge, but don’t forget to remove it from the fridge about 20 minutes before you’d like to serve it (the oil will solidify a bit in the cold).
  2. Toss the salad ingredients together and add the dressing, tossing again to coat everything evenly.
  3. Serve and enjoy!

 

Green Bean, Red Quinoa and Hazelnut SaladSource: Sprouted Kitchen

Ingredients

For the dressing:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp white balsamic vinegar (I only had regular red balsamic vinegar, so I used it and it was just fine)
  • 2 tsp agave nectar or honey
  • 1 clove garlic
  • A handful of basil leaves
  • A pinch of salt and pepper

For the salad:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup red quinoa (any colour works – this just looked prettiest!), rinsed in a sieve
  • 1 lb green beans, ends trimmed
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts, roughly chopped

Directions

  1. For the dressing, combine all the ingredients in a small food processor or blender and whirl to combine. Set aside.
  2. Bring water to a boil in a small pot, and add the quinoa. Cover and turn the heat down to a low simmer. Let it sit like this for about 20 minutes; all the water should be absorbed and the quinoa should be light and fluffy. Transfer to a large bowl to cool.
  3. Blanch or steam the green beans until just barely softened. Drain and add the beans to the quinoa. Add the green onions, hazelnuts and as much dressing you’d like. Toss to combine, and serve at room temperature or chilled. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

